

# WIRRAL COUNCIL

## **GENERAL EXCEPTION NOTICE**

12 October 2022

## **EXPLANATORY NOTES**

(1) The Council publishes a Forward Plan of key decisions it expects to take over the next four months giving at least 28 days' notice of decisions. The Forward Plan is available to view on the Council's website under the heading, 'Council and Democracy' and 'Minutes, Agendas and Reports'.

(2) Sometimes the Council has to take a key decision which has not been included in the Forward Plan, or for which the requisite notice has not been able to be given, the decision will be treated as a 'General Exception' under The Local Authorities (Executive Arrangements) (Meetings and Access to Information) (England) Regulations 2012 and as set out in section 13 of the Council's 'Access to Information Procedure Rules' in Part 4 of the Council's Constitution.

(3) The Decision will be treated as a General Exception on the grounds that the decision for Bayswater Road cannot be delayed as the funding for the scheme, via DfT Active Travel Tranche 2, expires March 2023 and therefore a further delay would risk scheme delivery (if approved) within the required timescale.

# CHAIRS OF POLICY AND SERVICE COMMITTEES

- Councillor Janette Williamson
- Councillor Yvonne Nolan
- Councillor Kathy Hodson
- Councillor Tony Jones
- Councillor Elizabeth Grey
- Councillor Helen Cameron
- Policy and Resources (Leader of the Council)
- Adult Social Care and Public Health
- Children, Young People and Education
- Economy, Regeneration and Housing
- Environment, Climate Emergency and Transport
- Tourism, Communities, Culture and Leisure

# WIRRAL COUNCIL – CHIEF OFFICERS

### CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Paul Satoor Town Hall, Brighton Street, Wallasey, Wirral CH44 8ED Tel: (switchboard) 606 2000; (direct) 691 8491 paulsatoor@wirral.gov.uk

# ASSISTANT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

David Armstrong Hamilton Building, Conway Street, Birkenhead, Wirral CH41 4FD Tel: (switchboard) 606 2000; (direct) 666 4300 davidarmstrong@wirral.gov.uk

### DIRECTOR OF CARE AND HEALTH

Graham Hodkinson Old Market House, Hamilton Street, Birkenhead, Wirral CH41 5AL Tel: (switchboard) 606 2000; (direct) 666 3650 grahamhodkinson@wirral.gov.uk

## DIRECTOR OF CHILDREN, FAMILIES AND EDUCATION

Simone White Hamilton Building, Conway Street, Birkenhead, Wirral CH41 4FD Tel: (switchboard) 606 2000; (direct) 666 4288 simonewhite@wirral.gov.uk

### DIRECTOR OF NEIGHBOURHOOD SERVICES

Nicki Butterworth Town Hall, Brighton Street, Wallasey, Wirral CH44 8ED Tel: (switchboard) 606 2000; (direct) 606 2130 nicolabutterworth@wirral.gov.uk

### DIRECTOR OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Dave Bradburn Old Market House, Market Street, Birkenhead, Wirral CH41 5AL Tel: (switchboard) 606 2000; (direct) 666 5142 <u>davebradburn@wirral.gov.uk</u>

### DIRECTOR OF RESOURCES

Shaer Halewood Town Hall, Brighton Street, Wallasey, Wirral 8ED Tel: (switchboard) 606 2000; (direct) 691 8688 shaerhalewood@wirral.gov.uk

# DIRECTOR OF REGENERATION AND PLACE

Sally Shah Town Hall, Brighton Street, Wallasey, Wirral CH44 8ED Tel: (switchboard) 606 2000; (direct) 691 8426 sallyshah@wirral.gov.uk

#### WIRRAL COUNCIL

#### **GENERAL EXCEPTION NOTICE**

#### 12 October 2022

Proposed decision	Description	Expected date of decision	Details of exempt information
ACTIVE TRAVEL FUND TRANCHE 2: A554 BAYSWATER ROAD/HARRISON DRIVE, WALLASEY - PROPOSED MANDATORY CYCLE LANE AND LEASOWE ROAD - REMOVAL OF SCHEME FROM PROGRAMME Environment, Climate Emergency and Transport Committee	This report considers the objections and expressions of support received following consultation regarding the proposed mandatory cycle link along A554 Bayswater Road/Harrison Drive, Wallasey Ward. This scheme has been developed as part of Tranche 2 of the Department for Transport's (DfT) Active Travel Fund (ATF). In accordance with the Council's constitution consideration of the approval of the implementation of the scheme is a matter for this Committee given that in excess of 14 objections have been received in response to the public consultation on the scheme. The scheme also seeks approval for the removal of the Leasowe Road scheme in the Leasowe and Moreton East ward, and the Moreton West and Saughall Massie ward from the Tranche 2 programme.	October 2022	